Meal planning on a price matching budget.

I don’t know about you, but I meal plan. Sure it’s a pain but I know it has saved us money in the long run. We also waste less food because we only buy what is needed. I started meal planning around 2 years ago. With the tools out there today it’s so easy to sit down and take 15 to 20 minutes that is needed. Well maybe if your not new at it. I use the old fashioned paper and pencil and write down my list and go from there. Nothing fancy for me. I have the flyers out too. Why? To see what’s on sale and what I can price match!

http://ahref=http://instagram.com/p/xmG-D-OsQf/title=Photo/a

I use Pinterest. Feel free to follow me. I have special boards like Paleo foods, Gluten Free foods, 21DSD foods and I quite sugar boards. All with recipes I have given a thumbs up to. I don’t post anything on there that I have not tried as fear of passing it on to someone who may dislike the recipe. Sure you may dislike it as much as the next person but for me they work. I’ve pined some recipes and have unpinned them due to my own personal dislike after making the recipe. Feel free to give me any feedback if you have found a recipe that you made and liked or disliked. Either way to each there own I say. *shrugs*

So when I do my meal plans they are for 2 weeks. My family budget for 5 people (3 kids under 6 & 2 adults) is $200.00 every 2 weeks and $300.00 every 6 weeks. The $300.00 is our bulk (ie: MEATS) we buy at Costco. the $400.00 a month is fruits, vegetables and other food that is required like bread, milk cheese. I am  not 100% PALEO. I do eat dairy and follow a paleo and gluten free lifestyle diet.

I’ll share my two weeks with you and most of the recipes can be found on my personal pinterest site, under the boards mentioned above. Feel free to comment below if you have issues locating the recipe. Also I love trying new meals so if you have any yummy ones feel free to pass along. I love to cook.

Depending on when we last did groceries is when our meal plan starts. So for this 2 week meal plan it starts on a Monday.
This is what we plan on eating for the next two weeks. We are pretty good at going in order sometimes we will switch it up depending if something takes a bit longer to make and we where out busy that day I can pull something fast and easier to make but that’s the list we stick to.

M: Teriyaki Chicken with Rice
T: Tuna Casserole
W: Clam Chowder
T: Gluten free pasta chicken & sun-dried tomato sauce
F: Chicken wings with french fries (sweet potato)
S: Stake with green beans and baked potato (sweet potato)
S: Quiche with avocado salad
M: Pizza
T: Hot dogs and french fries
W: Lasagna
T: Meatloaf with curry rice salad
F: honey balsamic chicken with sweet potato
S: cabbage & sausage stew
S: gluten free pasta Mac & hamburger (I call it Mac Madness)

How are your new years resolutions going (or goals) Mine are going good. I worked out 2x’s this wee so far have one more to go and then I already did 3 blog entries this week! Yah me for staying on top of my goals and achieving them! With time I will get better and not so boring with my blogs!! Right now I’m doing what is my best. That’s just getting it down and doing it.

2 thoughts on “Meal planning on a price matching budget.

Leave a comment